take a long drown with me, of california wine

And the wine it tastes so sweet
as we lay our eyes to wander
and the sky, it stretches deep
Will we rest our heads to slumber
beneath the vines of California wine?
Beneath the sun of California one

-The Decemberists: “California One Youth and Beauty Brigade”

Yesterday evening, I saw my father in his element as he showed me the first steps of transforming grapes into wine. I popped Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon, and Cabernet Franc grapes, whole, like candy. I taste-tested the sugar levels and distinct flavors of each grape. As he told me to taste carefully, I realized for the first time there really is a difference. Of the three grapes, the Merlot has the most distinct flavor, which accounts for its dryness. It’s my personal favorite.

I was almost sad to see the beautiful, dark-as-midnight grapes go into the crusher. Over three-hundred pounds of California-delivered wine grapes, left up to our own artistic vini-talents. I’ve never seen my father this happy in my life. I think it’s time to take the old man out west.

Published in: on September 24, 2008 at 1:40 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://garlecchina.wordpress.com/2008/09/24/take-a-long-drown-with-me-of-california-wine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

