tarot cards and garlic tattoos

So, I’m going to go ahead and blow off the promise of continuing my previous post. (After all, I’m pretty sure no one’s reading this.)

Last night, I did the unthinkable. I had fun. After sitting in the dark for weeks, depressed and dwelling on stuff that’s probably completely curable with perspective, I decided to go out to dinner without feeling guilty about A. spending money, B. drinking on a week night, C. eating dessert. That aside, my friend A brought her stack of Tarot cards.

For those of you who don’t know (no one reads this blog), my very first Tarot card reading took place at a cafe in Manchester, Vermont. The reading was more introspective than futuristic, which I appreciated. I wasn’t ready to stomach predictions like, “You’re doomed with love for all eternity” (that wouldn’t have come as a surprise anyway) or, “You’re going to be a solitary old cat lady with garlic breath” (which I wouldn’t mind, except for the solitary part. Whoever I end up with must accept the garlic factor). She gave me good insight into my present state. She knew I was in physical pain (long-term pinched nerve in my neck) and had recently been hurt, and that I possessed the power to fulfill some dream (that one was a little hazy because  I don’t really have a dream at the moment). All in all, not a bad reading.

My second reading was done by A, who happens to be a newfound friend of mine. She’s probably the most intuitive, insightful person I know, even in the short time I’ve known her. She has an upbeat spirit and delivers better advice than anyone I know.  So, she gave me a reading at her house. This stack of cards was different. There were at least a dozen of them and the layout was completely different. The reading was overall negative and, needless to say, I freaked the fuck out. I won’t go into detail, but let’s just say some of the reading came true recently (in two different environments, which I found strange). Also, two days after the reading, my great uncle died (she drew the Death card, which she often sees as positive, so maybe it was just a weird coincidence ?). So, the reading caused me more anxiety than insight.

I gave it another shot last night. These were short (but still insightful) three-card readings. Once again, I drew the Death card. But in this context, A said, the death card represents change. The other cards (I forget what they were) just confirmed that I had the power to make a change happen. This said change is related to money/career, but I’m guessing it’s not career-related. It was more like…my financial situation will allow for a favorable change. So, I’m still trying to figure it out, but not read into it too much.

On a completely separate note, I want a tattoo. Of a garlic bulb. On my inner lower leg. Let me first caveat that I don’t give a rat’s ass what anyone thinks of that idea. It’s original and meaningful to me, no one else, and that’s all that matters. It’s my heritage, it’s my story, it’s my passion. I have the design and am sitting with it for awhile, but I foresee some ink-to-skin intercourse in the not-so-distant future.

Death card, please manifest thyself in a positive way.

Published in: on April 22, 2010 at 1:57 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://garlecchina.wordpress.com/2010/04/22/tarot-cards-and-garlic-tattoos/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

