The Roaring Twenties

the roaring 20s

It’s a time of change, a time of stasis, a time of lust, a time of unrequited love, a time of fear, a time of hope, a time of joy, a time of moral and immoral decisions, a time of faltering values, and a time of the perpetual unknown all whipped together, poured into a tiny loaf pan, and baked on high with the occasional toothpick-prick test for undercooked batter. For reasons unknown, the batter isn’t quite done. Maybe it would be best to simmer on low, slowing things down a bit until the desired consistency is reached? Or speed things up and sear the surface, leaving ample time and room for completion in the middle.

Suffice to say, I feel like an uncooperative cake in a temperamental kitchen. I’m the sometimes-smooth, sometimes-lumpy batter that is 26 years of age. I’d be lying if I said the 20s is the most CONFUSING decade. I can actually empathize with the historical angst that was the Roaring 20s. Alcohol, a source of entertainment and diversion, was prohibited in a world that screamed, “I WANT TO ENJOY LIFE.” In the 2000s, I feel the same in my 20s (does that make sense?). I feel trapped by what I think I SHOULD be doing, versus what I really WANT to do, though admittedly, I don’t really know what the hell I want to do. Except publish a book. I want to do that.

Whatever it is, it could always be 10 times worse. Sometimes that helps to put things in perspective; other times it doesn’t. Regardless, you’ll be okay in the end. If you’re not okay, it’s not the end. Harder rains will fall, but after each downpour, you’ll discover stronger umbrellas.

Roaring twenties, commence.

Come gather ’round people
Wherever you roam
And admit that the waters
Around you have grown
And accept it that soon
You’ll be drenched to the bone
If your time to you is worth savin’
Then you better start swimmin’ or you’ll sink like a stone
For the times they are a-changin’

Come writers and critics
Who prophesize with your pen
And keep your eyes wide
The chance won’t come again
And don’t speak too soon
For the wheel’s still in spin
And there’s no tellin’ who that it’s namin’
For the loser now will be later to win
For the times they are a-changin’

-Dylan

Published in: on July 21, 2010 at 6:42 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://garlecchina.wordpress.com/2010/07/21/the-roaring-twenties/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment